Philip Yeagle to Receive 2016 Avanti Award in Lipids

Rockville, MD — The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce that Philip
Yeagle, University of Connecticut, has been named the recipient of the
Society’s 2016 Avanti Award in Lipids. Yeagle will be honored at the
Society’s 60th Annual Meeting at the Los Angeles Convention Center in Los
Angeles, California, on Tuesday, March 1, during the Awards Symposium.
He also will give a short talk at that time.

Yeagle is being honored for his innovative applications of NMR to important
problems of biological interest that have altered thinking in the area of
membrane biophysics research. Avanti Polar Lipids, Inc., established this
award to recognize an investigator for outstanding contributions to our
understanding of lipid biophysics.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific Society
established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in
biophysics. The Society promotes growth in this expanding field through its
annual meeting, monthly journal, and committee and outreach activities. Its
9000 members are located throughout the U.S. and the world, where they
teach and conduct research in colleges, universities, laboratories,
government agencies, and industry. For more information on these awards,
the Society, or the 2016 Annual Meeting, visit