Month: April 2022

MCB PSM offers two May term lab modules

MCB 5427-50 Laboratory Techniques in Functional Genomics Topic – Introduction to Cell Culture Techniques Dates: May 16, May 18, May 20, 2022, 9:00 AM – 5:00 PM 1 credit In Person Enrollment Limit 6 Instructor: Sau-Mei Leung Coordinator: Charles Giardina Room TLS 253 Instructor Consent Required Contact for permission number. Prerequisite is MCB 5427 Introduction to […]

Research from the May Lab featured on cover of Protein Science

“A favorabe path to domain separation in the orange carotenoid protein” The computational study was led by postdoc Mahmoud Sharawy in theMay lab and was a collaboration with Jose Gascon in the UConn Chemistry Department. The study revealed how the orange carotenoid protein in cyanobacteria undergoes a dissociation event critical for photoprotection. See Cover

Dr. Rachel O’Neill Contributes to Globe-Spanning Collaboration

Filling in the missing sections of the human genome has yielded interesting results. The T2T (Telomere-2-Telomere) project is a globe-spanning collaboration in which MCB’s Rachel O’Neill is a principal investigator with several UConn grad students contributing. Savannah Hoyt, Gabrielle Hartley, and Patrick Grady in Rachel O’Neill’s lab, and Luke Wojenski in Leighton Core’s lab. Read […]

Greetings from MCB Dept. Head Michael Lynes

The department of Molecular and Cell Biology is in fine fettle, having weathered another challenging year while marking notable successes by faculty, staff, and students. Our undergraduates have had a fine year: the 150 MCB honors students and university scholars have won 39 SURF awards (Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowships).  Eight of our MCB students are […]

GO:MCB Announces New Officers

GO:MCB has announced the results from this year’s GO:MCB election: President: Michael Griffith Vice President: Michelle Neitzey Treasurer: Dan Phillips Secretary: Heather Jamieson Outreach Coordinator: Camille Pearce Diversity Facilitator: Sophia Gosselin DEIC Grad Representatives: John Briseno, Patrick Grady, Sophia Gosselin Congratulations to the new officers and representatives!